Madagascar Presidents

From MadaCamp
Jump to: navigation, search

Madagascar has its own definition of democracy with regards to its leaders. This page summarises the political history of this remote country since its independence.

Presidents of Madagascar

  • 1959 - 1972: Philibert Tsiranana is first President of Madagascar.
  • 18 May 1972: Philibert Tsiranana gives full powers to General Ramanantsoa.
  • 5 February 1975: General Gabriel Ramanantsoa gives full powers to Richard Ratsimandrava, who combines the functions of President of the Republic, Prime Minister, Minister of National Defense and Planning.
  • Night of 11 to 12 February 1975: After the assassination of Ratsimandrava, an executive military led by General Gilles Andriamahazo took power.
  • 15 June 1975: The Military Executive Board elects Didier Ratsiraka as head of the state.
  • 31 October 1991: Ratsiraka loses most of its powers to the Prime Minister of transition, Guy Willy Razanamasy. A series of strikes and daily orderly demonstrations resulted in the National Guard firing upon crowds in which an estimated 100 dies. Ratsiraka agrees to a referendum 1992/93.
  • 27 March 1993: Albert Zafy wins election but soon ran into trouble leading to his impeachment by the National Assembly.
  • 9 February 1997: Didier Ratsiraka resumes power after returning from exile in France.
  • 22 February 2002: Marc Ravalomanana is self-proclaimed President of the Republic following widely disputed election results and battle for control between Ratsiraka and Ravalomanana.
  • 17 March 2009: Marc Ravalomanana gives full powers to an Executive Military.
  • 17 March 2009: The Military Directory transfers the full powers to President Andry Rajoelina.
  • 24 January 2014: Hery Rajaonarimampianina becomes the officially elected President.

Further information